Prairie du Chien cheerleaders are best in Small Cheer Dance Division

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

The Prairie du Chien Competition Cheerleaders are, front row: Katie Licht, Katie Zahara and Mariah Slaght. Middle row: Paige Severson, Bree Holler, Kara Katzung and Archi Patel. Back row: Coach Kelli Saxe, Alana Wedge, Lauren Kennedy, Kina Myers and Morgan Kiesau.

The Prairie du Chien Blackhawk Competition Cheerleaders attended the 2017 WACPC State Cheer Competition on  Saturday, Feb. 25. The event was held at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison. 


The team competed in the Small Cheer Dance Division.  The cheerleaders earned first place, making them the state champions of that division!

Coach Kelli Saxe said, “This was our fourth consecutive year qualifying for state in cheerleading and it was our third consecutive year qualifying in the Cheer Dance Division. Small Cheer Dance means that we had less than 12 girls on our team. I was a little less confident this year than past years because this year they did not split this Small Cheer Dance Division into small schools (D2) and large schools (D1), all schools choosing to compete in the Cheer Dance Division competed against one another. That meant that Prairie du Chien went up against some really big schools and some notable programs, and although I knew our routine was solid, I wasn’t sure quite how we’d measure up. Hearing our school name called for first place was an extremely awesome moment! We made memories that I don’t think any of us will ever forget!”

Rate this article: 
No votes yet