County Pork Producers hold banquet, present awards

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/public_html/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/

Clayton County Pork Producers crowned royalty for the coming year at their annual banquet held Sept. 30 at Johnson’s Reception Hall in Elkader. From left are 2018 Clayton County Pork Queen Tracy Curran; 2017 Clayton County Pork Queen Megan Glawe; 2017 Clayton County Little Miss Pigtail Emme Wikner; 2017 Clayton County Pork Princess Macie Weigand and 2018 Clayton County Little Miss Pigtail Greta Scherf. See more photos in the Oct. 18 pork salute issue. (Press photo by Melissa Spielbauer Combs)

The Clayton County Pork Producers held their annual banquet Saturday evening, Sept. 30, at Johnson's Reception Hall in Elkader.

The evening featured a pork dinner, door prizes, and a program that opened with the welcome and introduction of guests by Kristin Oberbroeckling.

A highlight of the evening was the crowning of Tracy Curran as the 2017-2018 Clayton County Pork Queen by the current queen, Megan Glawe. The new queen is the daughter of Raymond and Rhonda Curran of St. Olaf.

Greta Scherf, daughter of Jason and Courtney Scherf of Elkader, was crowned 2017-2018 Clayton County Miss Pigtail by the current Miss Pigtail, Emme Wikner.

The following awards were presented:

Restaurant award: St. Olaf Tap, St. Olaf

Appreciation Award: Schulte Family — Barbara and Ed Ruff, Mary and Robert Poort and Greg and Deb Schulte

Master Pork Producer Award: Ryan Oberbroeckling of Garnavillo

County Fair awards were also presented. For additional photos and coverage, watch for The Guttenberg Press Pork Salute Issue on Oct. 18.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet